
My first choice for a Nordic trip is Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC: 10 GB costs €12 for 30 days, while 25 GB costs €22. Its eight-country package includes Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Iceland, plus Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. For a lower published dollar price and a wider European journey, MobiMatter’s Sparks Europe Special is a strong alternative at US$10.49 for 10 GB over 30 days.
Before buying either, check your existing phone plan. Norway is in the EEA. A qualifying EU/EEA subscription may already provide the roaming allowance you need. The expensive mistake can be buying an unnecessary second plan, or assuming that coverage on land also covers the cellular network aboard a ferry.
This guide covers Copenhagen, Stockholm and Oslo, plus Nordic and Baltic extensions. See our Europe eSIM comparison. Individual guides cover Norway, Sweden and Denmark.
Quick answer: which option fits?
Nordics plus the Baltics: Ubigi, 10 GB / 30 days for €12 or 25 GB for €22.
Published USD value: MobiMatter Sparks Europe Special, 10 GB / 30 days for US$10.49.
Another clear EUR option: Yesim Europe & UK, 10 GB / 30 days for €16.
Larger fixed-data sale: Nomad eSIM Europe 35, 50 GB / 30 days for €31.13.
Seven days of daily high-speed data: Airalo Eurolink unlimited, €25, with 5 GB/day then 1 Mbps.
Unlimited phone use with limited tethering: Holafly Scandinavia, €25.90 / 7 days, subject to fair use and 1 GB/day hotspot. Check its EU-resident restriction below.
Affiliate links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Documented codes appear beside their providers, but eligibility and stacking can vary; no coupon is deducted from our comparisons. Some buttons open a general store, so select the exact named package.
Norway, EEA Roaming and the Ferry Exception

| Connection | What can apply | What to verify |
|---|---|---|
| EU/EEA home plan | Roam Like at Home in Norway and Iceland | Your tariff, roaming allowance and fair-use conditions |
| Purchased travel eSIM | Only its listed countries and partner networks | The exact package, validity and available data |
| Onboard cellular network | Maritime or satellite service may have separate charges | The ship network and your carrier’s maritime rates |
EU/EEA roaming rules include Norway and Iceland, subject to your subscription and fair-use conditions. If your normal allowance is sufficient, you may need no paid travel eSIM at all. Travellers with US, Canadian, UK or other home plans should check their own carrier’s terms rather than infer entitlement from the destination. Sources: European Commission roaming guidance and Norwegian regulator Nkom.
A travel package is a separate purchase: its country list controls where that allowance can be used. “Europe” is a product label, not a promise that every European country or territory is included. Switzerland is not in the EEA, although several commercial packages include it.
At sea, check both SIM lines. Color Line describes satellite-based Telenor Maritime service aboard its ships, with terrestrial connections possible near shore. Ordinary land-roaming inclusion does not establish maritime inclusion. Before sailing, download tickets and maps, check your ship’s Wi-Fi and use airplane mode with Wi-Fi re-enabled if you want to prevent either cellular line joining a ship network. Color Line mobile and Wi-Fi details.
Ferries are not universally offline: Tallink offers standard Wi-Fi, with availability areas depending on the ship and different premium options. Check the actual sailing rather than counting ferry Wi-Fi as guaranteed work time. Tallink onboard Wi-Fi.
Dedicated Scandinavia Plan or a Wider Europe Plan?
For this guide, the core itinerary is Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Finland and Iceland are common Nordic extensions. Product naming is broader than strict geography: Holafly calls its five-country offer Scandinavia, while Ubigi adds the three Baltic countries. A wider Europe plan can cover the same Nordic route.

| Exact product | Listed destinations | Five focus countries | Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC | 8 | All five included | All three included |
| MobiMatter Sparks Europe Special | 36 | All five included | All three included |
| Yesim Europe & UK | 33 | All five included | All three included |
| Nomad eSIM Europe 35 | 35 | All five included | All three included |
| Airalo Eurolink Europe | 41 | All five included | All three included |
| Holafly Scandinavia | 5 | All five included | Not included |
Ubigi’s complete eight-country list is Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden. Holafly’s five are Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. For a Stockholm to Helsinki to Tallinn trip, the Baltic stop makes the difference: Holafly Scandinavia alone is incomplete, while the other selected packages include Estonia.
Comparable Prices: 10 GB for 30 Days
These five fixed-data rows compare the same allowance and validity. Holafly appears separately because its seven-day unlimited offer is a different product. EUR and USD are native listed prices, not converted equivalents, and a lower number in dollars is not automatically cheaper than a euro price after payment costs.
| Provider and package | Data / validity | Native price | Main distinction |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC | 10 GB / 30 days | €12 or US$12 | Eight-country Nordic and Baltic scope |
| MobiMatter Sparks Europe Special | 10 GB / 30 days | US$10.49 | Wider European package at a low USD price |
| Yesim Europe & UK | 10 GB / 30 days | €16 | Useful EUR alternative; hotspot depends on operator |
| Nomad eSIM Europe 35 | 10 GB / 30 days | €20.46 or US$23 | Familiar app and larger promotional tiers |
| Airalo Eurolink Europe | 10 GB / 30 days | €28.50 or US$31 | 41 destinations; separate unlimited range |
| Holafly Scandinavia | Unlimited / 7 days | €25.90 or US$27.90 | Separate comparison; 1 GB/day hotspot and fair use |
Official price sources: Ubigi 10 GB, Sparks 10 GB, Yesim Europe & UK, Nomad eSIM Europe, Airalo Eurolink, Holafly Scandinavia.
The Six Providers and Their Trade-offs
The order reflects current route fit, price, allowance, hotspot and activation terms. It is an editorial recommendation, not a ranking of measured speeds. All six have a place, but the same traveller does not need six competing plans.
1. Ubigi
Ubigi offers the clearest regional fit here: all five focus countries plus the Baltics, with competitive one-off pricing. The 25 GB package is particularly useful when 10 GB feels tight. App top-ups and supported data sharing also make it practical for a journey with changing daily usage.
| Plan | Validity / billing | EUR price | Commitment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 GB | 30 days, one-off | €12 | Single purchase |
| 25 GB | 30 days, one-off | €22 | Single purchase |
| 50 GB | 30 days, one-off | €39 | Single purchase |
| Unlimited | 7 days, one-off | €26 | 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps |
| 5 GB per month | Renews monthly | €5/month | Cancel after 3 months: minimum €15 |
| 20 GB per month | Renews monthly | €10/month | Cancel after 3 months: minimum €30 |
The €5 offer is a subscription, not a €5 holiday package. Three monthly payments total €15; the €10 subscription totals at least €30. Monthly allowances renew on their own schedule, so do not describe them as one freely pooled 15 GB or 60 GB trip balance. Sources: 25 GB one-off, 50 GB one-off, 5 GB monthly and 20 GB monthly.
For intensive short trips, the seven-day unlimited product provides 5 GB/day at full speed, then 2 Mbps. The allowance resets every 24 hours at the original activation time. Its seven-day validity now matches the Airalo and Holafly examples below, although their speed and hotspot policies differ.
SmartStart begins validity in a covered destination; buying while already within coverage can start it immediately. An unused plan expires after six months. Hotspot is allowed, and Ubigi supports app recharging without remaining data or Wi-Fi. See the official activation rules.
Trade-off: this regional product stops at eight destinations. Add Germany or the UK and you need a different package or another allowance. Its exact Nordic carrier list appears below; I have not personally tested Ubigi’s service.
Provider tutorial: Ubigi presents its iPhone tutorial for buying and installing an Ubigi eSIM. This video explains general setup; the current package terms are in this guide.
2. MobiMatter
MobiMatter is a marketplace; this recommendation is specifically Sparks Europe Special. Its 36 destinations include all five focus countries and the Baltics, useful when Scandinavia is part of a longer trip.
| Data | Validity | USD price |
|---|---|---|
| 5 GB | 30 days | US$6.49 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | US$10.49 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | US$18.49 |
Hotspot and top-ups are supported. The listing states no daily cap or throttling within the purchased fixed allowance, and there is no automatic renewal. Validity begins with first data use; activate within two months of purchase. Sources: 5 GB package, 10 GB package and 20 GB package.
The Norway listing names Telia, Telenor and ICE. Having several listed partners is useful flexibility, but it does not establish faster service or uninterrupted reception through fjords. The product also discloses UK IP routing; a roaming connection may not appear to websites as a local Scandinavian connection.
Trade-off: supplier products have different registration, activation and renewal rules. Select Sparks Europe Special; no coupon is applied to its prices.
3. Yesim
Yesim’s Europe & UK package includes 33 countries, including all five focus countries and the three Baltics. It is a useful middle option for travellers who want a clear euro price and a full 30 days without committing to a monthly subscription.
| Data | Validity | EUR price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 30 days | €2.50 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | €9.60 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | €16 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | €22 |
| 30 GB | 30 days | €28 |
The current 10 GB and 20 GB prices are advertised sale amounts, before a coupon. A separate 500 MB, one-day €0.45 offer is restricted to first purchases and is not a substitute for these trip allowances. Validity starts on a compatible-network connection, with activation required within 180 days. Top-up is available. Official Europe & UK plans.
Hotspot depends on the operator. That condition matters if a laptop is central to your trip. Yesim also lists unlimited data at €24.50 for seven days, €39 for 15 days and €57 for 30 days, but its fair-use policy allows partner-network slowdowns without one published universal GB threshold or reduced speed. The fixed plans give a clearer data budget.
Its Norwegian partners are Telenor and Telia. For the app and product types, read our Yesim review.
4. Nomad eSIM
Nomad eSIM sells multiple Europe variants. These prices belong to the 35-destination product, which includes all five Nordic countries and the Baltics. Check the variant before purchasing.
| Data | Native EUR | Native USD | Price context |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 GB | €15.57 | US$17.50 | Listed price |
| 10 GB | €20.46 | US$23 | Listed price |
| 20 GB | €24.02 | US$27 | Sale; regular €32.91 / US$37 |
| 50 GB | €31.13 | US$35 | Sale |
For a heavy fixed-data trip, the 50 GB sale is worth comparing against Ubigi’s 25 GB at €22 and 50 GB at €39. The separate 36-destination Nomad eSIM product has different prices and networks: its 20 GB tier is €40.03. Do not select the wrong variant expecting the €24.02 price. Official Europe catalogue.
Activation occurs on the destination network, or automatically after 60 days from purchase. Add-ons are available for the fixed-data plans. Tethering is supported with device and network caveats, described in the official hotspot guide. The recurring Pass subscription entry price is not the one-off product compared here.
There is also an unlimited option: five days for €16.90 or ten days for €30.24, with 2 GB/day at 4G/5G and then 1 Mbps. The checked unlimited package does not support add-ons. For laptop uploads or streaming, compare that daily limit with your actual needs before preferring the word unlimited.
Provider tutorial: Nomad eSIM demonstrates checking iPhone compatibility, installing an eSIM and activating it at the destination. This video explains general setup; the current package terms are in this guide.
5. Airalo
Airalo’s Eurolink Europe product covers 41 destinations, including the Nordics and Baltics. Its fixed-data prices are higher than the first three choices here, but the separate unlimited range can suit a short trip with concentrated daily use or an existing Airalo preference.
| Fixed data / 30 days | EUR price | Unlimited duration | EUR price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 GB | €18 | 7 days | €25 |
| 10 GB | €28.50 | 10 days | €32.50 |
| 20 GB | €44.50 | 15 days | €45.50 |
| 50 GB | €64.50 | 30 days | €65.50 |
The unlimited range specifies 5 GB/day at high speed, then 1 Mbps. Its €25 seven-day offer therefore belongs in a daily-use comparison, not in the 10 GB fixed-data row. Sources: fixed 10 GB product and Eurolink catalogue.
Fixed-plan validity starts on first usage; the checked catalogue gives a 365-day activation window. The product is rechargeable. Hotspot requires compatible equipment, network support and correct APN settings; see Airalo’s tethering instructions.
The regional catalogue now names Nordic partners for both the checked 10 GB fixed plan and seven-day unlimited plan: Denmark, 3 Denmark and Norlys Mobil A/S; Norway, Telia; Sweden, Tele2 AB, 3 and Telia Company AB; Finland, DNA and Telia Finland Oyj; Iceland, Nova ehf. These are the Eurolink package lists, rather than names borrowed from separate country plans. Check the selected package again before purchase.
Provider tutorial: Airalo explains its eSIM service and how travelers can get started with mobile data abroad. This video explains general setup; the current package terms are in this guide.

6. Holafly
Holafly’s dedicated Scandinavia package includes Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. Flexible daily durations let you match your dates more closely than a fixed 30-day allowance.
| Duration | Native EUR | Native USD | Hotspot allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 days | €19.50 | US$20.90 | 1 GB/day |
| 7 days | €25.90 | US$27.90 | 1 GB/day |
| 10 days | €34.90 | US$37.50 | 1 GB/day |
| 14 days | €44.90 | US$47.90 | 1 GB/day |
| 15 days | €46.90 | US$50.50 | 1 GB/day |
| 30 days | €68.90 | US$73.90 | 1 GB/day |
Check eligibility before buying. The official product FAQ excludes domestic use and adds including the entire EU region if you are an EU-based resident
. EU-based readers planning Denmark, Sweden or Finland should verify that their intended use qualifies. This wording does not say the whole EEA, so do not extend it automatically to Norway or Iceland. Read the official product FAQ.
The phone allowance is marketed as unlimited, but local carriers may impose temporary fair-use slowdowns. No universal daily high-speed threshold or reduced speed is disclosed. Hotspot is limited to 1 GB/day, making this less suitable for a laptop that regularly uploads large files.
Validity starts on a supported network and runs in continuous 24-hour blocks. For a longer trip, check the options attached to your order in the app. Holafly’s guide updated on 17 October says eSIMs purchased on or after 30 September 2026 can be reused with eligible new destination packages. Its reuse guide and top-up FAQ still describe different profile workflows. Confirm which applies to your purchase before deleting or reinstalling the eSIM.
Provider tutorial: Holafly demonstrates installing an eSIM on an iPhone using the Holafly app. This video explains general setup; the current package terms are in this guide.
Country Coverage, Territories and Local Networks

| Destination | Ubigi | Sparks | Yesim | Nomad eSIM Europe 35 | Airalo | Holafly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denmark | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Norway | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Sweden | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Finland | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Iceland | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Estonia | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Latvia | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Lithuania | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
Handle territories individually. Greenland and the Faroe Islands are not established by a Denmark entry, and a Norway entry alone does not verify Svalbard access. Åland needs a different distinction: Nkom includes Finland, including Åland, in the regulated roaming area. That does not itself prove every travel package’s network access there. Ask the seller about the exact territory and product rather than marking all Nordic territories excluded. Nkom destination guidance.
In Norway, compare the host network against your overnight stops and road segments. In Sweden, distinguish Stockholm use from a northern journey near Abisko. In Denmark, a Copenhagen city break presents different planning needs from island travel. Finland and Iceland are included by all six selected packages, but that is not a promise of reception on remote trails or in the Icelandic Highlands. See our Finland guide for the extension.

| Country | Ubigi | Sparks Europe Special | Yesim Europe & UK | Nomad eSIM Europe 35 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denmark | Nuuday; Telia | TDC; Telenor | TDC/nuuday; Telenor | 3; Telia Mobile |
| Norway | ICE; Telia | Telia; Telenor; ICE | Telenor; Telia | Telia |
| Sweden | Tele2; Telia | Tele2; Telia; Telenor | Telenor(Vodafone); 3; Telia | 3; Telia Mobile AB |
| Finland | DNA; Telia (Sonera) | DNA; Elisa; Ålcom | Alcom; Elisa; DNA | Elisa; Telia |
| Iceland | Vodafone | Vodafone | Fjarskipti(VF); Nova | Siminn; Vodafone |
Sources: Ubigi selected package, Sparks selected package, Yesim selected package, Nomad eSIM Europe 35. Names follow the official package data, including legacy labels. Airalo Eurolink now publishes the Nordic partners listed in its provider section above. Holafly Scandinavia did not expose a verified named-network list in the reviewed regional source.
Check technology by package too. Ubigi’s 5G FAQ lists Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland, but not Iceland. Nomad eSIM’s current 35-destination network list labels its partners in all five Nordic countries 5G, including both Swedish partners. The 36-destination variant has a separate list. Avoid turning a general 5G badge into an all-country guarantee.
Use the Telia Norway map or Telenor Norway map for planning when that operator is available in your selected package. Their maps are theoretical estimates. Terrain, buildings, device bands and congestion can change the result; a population-coverage figure is not continuous road coverage. Keep Visit Norway travel information alongside your network checks when planning the journey.
Whole-Trip Budgets for Realistic Routes
These are planning scenarios, not journeys we tested. The table uses one-off purchases and target total data, not daily promises. All prices are before coupons. A 30-day plan can cover a shorter trip; a seven-day plan cannot cover a 14-day trip by itself.
| Route and target | Ubigi | Sparks Europe Special | Yesim | Other useful comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copenhagen, Stockholm, Oslo: 7 days, 10 GB | 10 GB: €12 | 10 GB: US$10.49 | 10 GB: €16 | Airalo 10 GB: €28.50; Holafly 7-day unlimited: €25.90, different limits |
| Bergen, Lofoten, Abisko, Rovaniemi: 14 days, 20 GB | 25 GB: €22 | 20 GB: US$18.49 | 20 GB: €22 | Nomad eSIM Europe 35: 20 GB €24.02 sale |
| Stockholm, Helsinki, Tallinn: 10 days, 10 GB | 10 GB: €12 | 10 GB: US$10.49 | 10 GB: €16 | Holafly Scandinavia does not cover Estonia |
| Copenhagen and Reykjavík: 10 days, 10 GB | 10 GB: €12 | 10 GB: US$10.49 | 10 GB: €16 | Airalo 10-day unlimited: €32.50, different daily limit |
| Sweden, Finland and all three Baltics: 30 days, 25 GB | 25 GB: €22 | No qualifying single tier verified | 30 GB: €28 | Nomad eSIM Europe 35: 50 GB €31.13 sale; Airalo 50 GB €64.50 |
The 14-day example shows why equal data tiers are not always the cheapest practical purchase: Ubigi’s 25 GB costs the same €22 as Yesim’s 20 GB. The 30-day example shows why a provider’s smallest headline price is irrelevant to a 25 GB need. Sparks’ verified 20 GB tier is too small; this comparison does not invent a larger package or silently add a second balance.
Every route still needs the ferry check for sea crossings. If Svalbard, Greenland or the Faroes is essential, confirm that territory before using the mainland comparison.
Activation, Hotspot and Practical Setup
| Selected plan | Start trigger | Purchase-to-activation window | Top-up / extension |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi one-off | Covered destination connection; can start immediately if already there | Unused plan expires after 6 months | App recharge; reusable profile |
| Sparks Europe Special | First data usage | 2 months | Top-ups available |
| Yesim Europe & UK | Compatible-network connection | 180 days | Top-ups available |
| Nomad eSIM Europe fixed | Destination connection, or automatically after 60 days | 60 days | Add-ons available |
| Airalo Eurolink fixed | First usage | 365 days in checked catalogue | Rechargeable |
| Holafly Scandinavia | Supported-network connection; continuous 24-hour blocks | Current deadline not established | Buy another duration package; follow app instructions |
| Product example | Price and duration | Published high-speed policy | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC | €26 / 7 days | 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps | Allowed within policy |
| Airalo Eurolink | €25 / 7 days | 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Device/network/APN conditions |
| Nomad eSIM Europe | €30.24 / 10 days | 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Device/network conditions |
| Yesim Europe & UK | €24.50 / 7 days | Partner fair use; universal threshold not specified | Depends on operator |
| Holafly Scandinavia | €25.90 / 7 days | Carrier fair use; universal threshold not specified | 1 GB/day |
Choose data from your habits. Start with your phone’s recent mobile-data history, then account for accommodation Wi-Fi, offline maps and laptop use. Five to ten gigabytes can be a planning starting point for light maps, messaging and browsing on a short trip; it is not a guarantee. Video quality, cloud photo backups and tethering can change consumption quickly. Our Europe data-budget guide helps build an estimate.
- Check that your exact phone supports eSIM and is carrier unlocked. Save the provider’s installation instructions while you have reliable internet.
- Install and label the travel line. A regional plan can activate at home if home is already in its coverage, so follow its start rules.
- Select the travel eSIM for mobile data and enable its required roaming setting. Control automatic data switching so it does not fall back to your home line.
- Keep calls and SMS charges separate from data. These compared data packages do not include a normal local voice number.
- Download maps, booking confirmations and transport tickets. Follow the ship-specific connectivity plan before a ferry crossing.
- If data fails at a border, check country membership, active allowance, selected data line, APN and network instructions before deleting anything.
Our Europe eSIM activation guide covers the setup process. Apple’s travel eSIM guidance explains dual-SIM precautions. For critical work calls, arrange backup internet at your accommodation.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best eSIM for Scandinavia in this comparison?
Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC is our first choice for a Nordic and Baltic itinerary, with 10 GB for €12 or 25 GB for €22, both for 30 days. MobiMatter Sparks Europe Special is a strong USD-value alternative at US$10.49 for 10 GB. These recommendations reflect published package terms, not Scandinavian speed tests. Checked 19 October 2026.
Do I need another eSIM for Norway if I have an EU or EEA plan?
Possibly not. Norway participates in EEA roaming, so a qualifying home subscription may already include suitable data, subject to its tariff and fair-use conditions. Check your carrier before buying. Maritime networks aboard ships require a separate check. Checked 19 October 2026.
Will one plan work in Denmark, Norway and Sweden?
Yes. Every exact regional package selected here includes all three countries. A single regional allowance can cover the land itinerary within its validity. This does not establish reception on every road or coverage on a ferry network. Checked 19 October 2026.
Are Finland and Iceland included too?
Yes. All six selected packages include Finland and Iceland, not only Holafly. Destination inclusion does not guarantee remote-area service, and it does not mean every package provides 5G in both countries. Checked 19 October 2026.
Which packages also cover Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania?
Ubigi SCANDINAVIA & BALTIC, Sparks Europe Special, Yesim Europe & UK, Nomad eSIM Europe 35 and Airalo Eurolink include all three Baltic countries. Holafly Scandinavia does not. A Tallinn stop therefore needs a wider Holafly product or a separate plan if choosing that brand. Checked 19 October 2026.
Is Ubigi’s €5 monthly plan a cheap one-off holiday option?
It is a renewing subscription with cancellation after three months. At €5 per month, the minimum three payments total €15; the €10 monthly plan totals at least €30. Monthly allowances reset and are not one pooled trip balance. Compare the separate one-off plans for a single holiday. Checked 19 October 2026.
Does unlimited mean unlimited high-speed data?
No. Ubigi’s checked seven-day offer provides 5 GB/day then 2 Mbps; Airalo Eurolink provides 5 GB/day then 1 Mbps; the checked Nomad eSIM Europe offer provides 2 GB/day then 1 Mbps. Yesim and Holafly permit carrier fair-use slowdowns without a universal numerical threshold in the reviewed sources. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can I share the connection with a laptop?
Check the exact package. Ubigi and Sparks allow hotspot within the allowance. Nomad eSIM and Airalo have device or network conditions. Yesim says it depends on the operator. Holafly Scandinavia limits sharing to 1 GB/day, so unlimited phone data is not unlimited laptop data. Checked 19 October 2026.
Does a regional eSIM work on the Stockholm to Helsinki ferry?
Covered departure and arrival countries do not prove onboard cellular inclusion. Maritime or satellite networks can have separate charges. Check the ship’s Wi-Fi, download tickets and maps, and control both SIM lines before sailing. Airplane mode with Wi-Fi re-enabled prevents cellular connections. Checked 19 October 2026.
Are Greenland, the Faroes, Svalbard and Åland automatically covered?
Do not infer travel-package eligibility from a parent-country name. Confirm Greenland, the Faroes and Svalbard directly. Åland is included with Finland in Nkom’s regulated-roaming guidance, but that legal position still does not verify every travel eSIM’s specific network access there. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can an EU resident use Holafly Scandinavia?
Check with Holafly before buying for Denmark, Sweden or Finland. Its current product FAQ excludes domestic use and explicitly extends that restriction to the entire EU region for EU-based residents. The wording does not say the entire EEA. Do not assume eligibility from the country list alone. Checked 19 October 2026.
When should I install and activate the eSIM?
Install over reliable internet before you need mobile data, following the provider’s rules. Validity commonly starts on supported-network connection or first use, but activation deadlines differ. A regional plan can start early if enabled while already inside its coverage area. Keep the profile installed when troubleshooting. Checked 19 October 2026.
Final Verdict: Start With the Route You Will Actually Take

For a straightforward Nordic or Nordic-plus-Baltic journey, I would start with Ubigi. Its €12/10 GB and €22/25 GB one-off plans are easy to compare. MobiMatter Sparks Europe Special is the next value check at US$10.49/10 GB or US$18.49/20 GB, especially if the route continues elsewhere in Europe. Yesim is a useful euro-priced alternative at €16/10 GB.
Choose Nomad eSIM for its current larger fixed-data sale or an app you already know; consider Airalo’s quantified daily unlimited offer for intensive short use. Holafly can suit phone-focused travel when its eligibility conditions fit, but the 1 GB daily hotspot allowance makes it a different proposition from unrestricted laptop use.
The most valuable first check costs nothing: ask whether your home plan already covers Norway and the rest of the route. Then keep land networks, ship Wi-Fi and maritime cellular service separate. That avoids both an unnecessary purchase and a costly assumption at sea.
Method: official products, network lists and support terms checked on 19 October 2026. Tables use public listed prices before coupons, including advertised sales. Codes are documented site offers, not newly redeemed discounts.






