Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026: 4 Providers Compared — London to the Highlands

Best eSIM for UK visitors 2026 comparison featuring Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily with official August euro prices and UK mobile networks.
Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026: 4 Providers Compared — London to the Highlands
Last updated: August 15, 2026 — All provider prices are shown in euros (€) and were checked on the official Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily pages. Networks and plan conditions can vary by package, so always open the live plan details before checkout.
Best eSIM for UK visitors 2026 comparison of Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily with official August euro prices, UK networks, calls and SMS options
Best eSIM for UK visitors 2026: Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily compared using official August prices in euros, plan types and provider-listed UK networks.

You land at Heathrow. You toggle on data. Nothing loads. Your European eSIM is active — but nobody told you the UK left the EU in 2021. That regional plan you bought for France and Italy? It might not include the United Kingdom anymore. Some do. Some don’t. And you’re standing in arrivals finding out the hard way.

The UK has four major mobile networks: EE, O2, Vodafone and Three. Ofcom’s latest Connected Nations data shows that good geographic coverage is available across 88% of the UK from at least one operator and 51% from all four. The best eSIM for UK visitors 2026 therefore depends on both price and the network attached to the exact plan: Airalo lists EE, Nomad lists Three/O2 for data plans and Vodafone for calls-and-SMS plans, Holafly lists five UK networks, while Saily does not disclose a named UK carrier on its destination page.

This guide also targets the practical questions behind a UK eSIM for tourists: unlimited data, calls and SMS, a usable phone number, London coverage and travel into Scotland or the Highlands. For any rural route, use Ofcom’s official Map Your Mobile checker with the actual postcode instead of trusting a national winner label.

How this guide is built — real UK network experience: I’m based in Portugal and compare eSIM providers across Europe full-time. I’ve also spent time on the ground in the UK — in 2023, while living in Ireland, I crossed over for a few days and used the Three network across the UK (on a physical Three plan, not an eSIM), with no connectivity problems during my stay. I’ve personally tested Holafly in Portugal, Turkey, and Thailand, and Nomad in Portugal. UK prices, network disclosures and plan conditions were rechecked on the official provider pages on August 15, 2026, with technical network context updated from Ofcom and Transport for London. For the wider region: Best eSIM for Ireland 2026 · Best eSIM for Europe 2026.

⚡ Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026 — Quick Answer

🥇 Best unlimited + multi-network: Holafly — five UK networks · unlimited · €25.50/7 days · 1GB/day hotspot
🥈 Best value + UK number option: Nomad — 20GB €21.64 · calls/SMS plans from €11.25 on Vodafone UK
🥉 Best EE option: Airalo — EE · unlimited €24.50/7 days · calls/SMS packages available
🛡️ Best security features: Saily — 10GB €16.99 · unlimited €23.99/7 days · security tools included

🏙️ London city break: compare the 10GB and 20GB prices; all four sell UK plans
🏔️ Scotland or the Highlands: check each stop with Ofcom Map Your Mobile and download offline maps
📞 Need a UK number: Nomad or Airalo selected calls/SMS plans; Saily’s optional number is a US number
🇪🇺 UK + mainland Europe: buy a regional plan only when “United Kingdom” is explicitly listed


Why Most Travelers Get the UK eSIM Wrong (Post-Brexit)

UK eSIM post-Brexit coverage check confirming that United Kingdom appears in a Europe regional plan before purchase
Post-Brexit, a Europe eSIM does not automatically include the UK. Always confirm that “United Kingdom” appears in the selected regional plan before checkout. Updated August 2026.

Before January 2021, the EU’s roaming regulation required every European eSIM plan to cover the UK automatically. That ended with Brexit. Providers now include or exclude the UK by choice — and some budget options quietly removed it to cut costs.

There’s a nuance worth knowing for 2026: some EU home carriers still let inbound EU travelers roam in the UK at domestic rates, but many now add a surcharge — it depends entirely on your operator and tariff. Relying on it is a gamble. The reliable move is simple: before buying any European regional eSIM, open the country list and look for “United Kingdom” specifically. Don’t assume it’s there.

The one rule: the four providers in this guide sell regional options that include the United Kingdom in their European regional plans. If you’re combining the UK with mainland Europe — France, Germany, or Portugal — a single Europe regional plan covers everything on one eSIM. See Best eSIM for Europe 2026.
⚠️ UK ETA update: from 8 April 2026, the UK ETA (Electronic Travel Authorisation) fee increased from £16 to £20 for visa-free visitors. This applies to most EU, US, Canadian, and Australian passport holders, is valid 2 years, and is separate from your eSIM. Check GOV.UK before travelling. And keep your home SIM data roaming OFF throughout your UK stay — EU roaming rates may not apply.


🧪 My real experience on the Three network in the UK (2023): While living in Ireland in 2023, I crossed over to the UK for a few days and used the Three network the whole time — on a physical Three plan, not an eSIM. For a three-day visit moving around the country, it handled everything I needed without a single connectivity problem. One honest caveat for this guide: Three is excellent in cities and well-populated areas (and now leads on 5G speed), but independent Ofcom data shows it trails EE in the most remote rural areas — so for the Highlands or deep Lake District valleys, EE (via Airalo) is the safer pick. For everything urban, Three delivered.
Original London travel photos of Big Ben, London Eye, Tower Bridge, Buckingham Palace and St Pauls Cathedral from Andre On Digital
Real London travel photos captured during our UK visit, including Big Ben, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Tower Bridge, and St Paul’s Cathedral. These original images help validate first-hand travel experience and real-world mobile coverage testing in London.

UK eSIM Plans: August 2026 Prices in Euros (€)

Quick decision: Holafly is the multi-network unlimited option at €25.50/7 days. Nomad combines 20GB for €21.64 with separate UK-number plans from €11.25. Airalo is the EE option, with unlimited data at €24.50/7 days and calls/SMS packages. Saily is the lowest-priced 10GB option in this comparison at €16.99 and adds built-in security features.

Unlimited Data Plans

DurationHolaflyNomadAiraloSaily
3 days€11.37€9.52€10.50
5 days€18.50€15.58€17.00€16.99
7 days€25.50€21.64€24.50€23.99
10 days€33.90€28.57€31.00€30.99
15 days€46.90€43.00€43.49
20 days€53.49
25 days€58.49
30 days€68.90€42.42 Full-Speed€62.00€63.99

Plan rules matter: Nomad’s standard unlimited product provides 2GB/day at 4G/5G and then 1 Mbps; its separate 30-day Full-Speed plan is listed at €42.42. Saily’s UK unlimited plan provides 5GB/day at full speed and then data up to 1 Mbps. Holafly markets unlimited data and allows 1GB/day of hotspot sharing. Always check the live fair-use terms before purchase.

Fixed Data Plans

PlanNomadAiraloSaily
1GB€3.90 / 7d€4.00 / 3d€3.99 / 7d
3GB€7.79 / 30d€8.50 / 7d€7.99 / 30d
5GB€10.39 / 30d€12.00 / 30d€11.49 / 30d
10GB€15.15 / 30d€17.00 / 30d€16.99 / 30d
20GB€21.64 / 30d€28.00 / 30d€27.49 / 30d
50GB€35.00 / 30d

Calls, SMS and Phone Number Options

ProviderExample planPhone numberNetwork disclosure
Nomad5GB + 100 min + 100 SMS / 30d — €11.25Local UK numberVodafone UK
Nomad20GB + 300 min + 300 SMS / 30d — €22.51Local UK numberVodafone UK
Airalo5GB + 50 min + 50 SMS / 30d — €14.00Included on calls/SMS packageEE
Airalo20GB + 200 min + 200 SMS / 30d — €34.50Included on calls/SMS packageEE
SailyUK calling and messaging add-ons sold separatelyUS number, not a UK numberNamed UK carrier not disclosed
HolaflyUK product is data-onlyNoneFive UK networks listed

Nomad states that its calls/SMS packages are not eligible for promotional or referral codes. Airalo prices above are the 30-day packages shown in euros. Saily’s phone number and voice/text allowances are optional products and are not included in the UK data-plan price.

UK eSIM price comparison August 2026 for Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily in euros with unlimited data, calls, SMS and phone number options
Official UK eSIM prices in euros verified in August 2026: four providers compared across unlimited data, fixed data, calls, SMS and phone-number options.

Reading the tables: Holafly is the simplest multi-network unlimited choice. Nomad is strongest for value plus a genuine local UK number on selected plans. Airalo is the direct EE option. Saily is competitive at 10GB and adds security features, but it does not publish a named UK carrier on the destination page.


Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026: Top 4 Providers

🥇 #1 — Best Unlimited
Holafly — Best Unlimited for UK Visitors (5 UK Networks)
Five networks listed · unlimited data · €25.50/7 days · 1GB/day hotspot · personally tested

Holafly is the strongest choice for UK visitors who want unlimited data without tracking usage. Its official UK page lists Orange UK, T-Mobile UK, H3G UK, VirginMediaO2 UK and Vodafone UK, plus 5G where available. The 7-day plan now costs €25.50. I have personally tested Holafly in Portugal, Turkey and Thailand. Full review: Holafly Review 2026.

PlanPricePer day
3 days€11.37€3.79
7 days€25.50€3.64
10 days€33.90€3.39
15 days€46.90€3.13
30 days€68.90€2.30
⚠️ Holafly’s official UK page says day plans can share 1GB of data per day by hotspot. It also includes Always On backup data. The UK product is data-only, so ordinary cellular calls, SMS and a UK phone number are not included.

Best for: travelers who want a UK eSIM with unlimited data, multiple listed networks and minimal plan management.

How Holafly Works for UK Travel

This official Holafly video explains the product and setup flow. The technical embed uses privacy-enhanced YouTube, lazy loading and a descriptive title.

Holafly is most useful when Maps, WhatsApp, transport apps, social media and video calls stay active throughout the day and you prefer not to monitor a fixed data allowance.

🥈 #2 — Best Value + UK Number
Nomad — Best Value and Local UK Number Options
Three/O2/Vodafone listed by plan · 20GB €21.64 · local-number plans from €11.25 · full hotspot

Nomad is the best-value eSIM for UK visitors in this comparison. Its 20GB/30-day data plan costs €21.64, while the separate 5GB + 100 minutes + 100 SMS package costs €11.25 and includes a local number. The official page lists Hutchison 3G, O2 and Vodafone across its UK products. Full review: Nomad eSIM Review 2026.

  • Data-only plans: the plan detail page lists Hutchison 3G / O2 / Vodafone, 4G/5G depending on package, hotspot supported.
  • Calls + SMS plans: Vodafone, local UK number, minutes and SMS to local numbers, hotspot supported.
PlanPriceNetwork / service detail
10GB / 30d€15.15Data only
20GB / 30d€21.64Data only
5GB + 100 min + 100 SMS / 30d€11.25Vodafone · local UK number
20GB + 300 min + 300 SMS / 30d€22.51Vodafone · local UK number
Unlimited / 7d€21.642GB/day at 4G/5G, then 1 Mbps
Unlimited Full-Speed / 30d€42.42Officially labeled Full-Speed

Best for: price-focused travelers, hotspot users and anyone who needs a genuine local UK number on a selected plan. Nomad states that calls/SMS plans are not eligible for promotional codes.

How Nomad Works for UK Travel

This Nomad video shows how the eSIM service works. Check the individual package details because data-only and calls/SMS products have different allowances and network disclosures.

The data-only plan is the simpler value choice. Choose the Vodafone calls/SMS package when a local UK number is more important than applying a coupon.

🥉 #3 — Best EE Option
Airalo — Best Direct EE Network Option
EE primary network · unlimited €24.50/7 days · standard plans from €4 · calls/SMS packages

Airalo’s official United Kingdom page identifies EE as the primary network. It now offers standard data, unlimited data and data/calls/text packages in euros. That makes it the clearest choice when you specifically want an EE-backed travel eSIM, but local performance still depends on the exact postcode and route. Full review: Airalo Review 2026.

Data / unlimitedPriceCalls + textsPrice
1GB / 3d€4.001GB + 10 min + 10 SMS / 3d€4.50
10GB / 30d€17.0010GB + 100 min + 100 SMS / 30d€21.00
20GB / 30d€28.0020GB + 200 min + 200 SMS / 30d€34.50
50GB / 30d€35.0050GB + 500 min + 500 SMS / 30d€48.50
Unlimited / 7d€24.505GB + 50 min + 50 SMS / 30d€14.00

Airalo also shows EU+UK plans from €4, Europe plans from €4.50 and global plans from €8, all of which should be checked for the live country list and package rules.

Best for: travelers who want the EE network, flexible validity periods, top-ups and an integrated data/calls/text option.

How Airalo Works for UK Travel

This Airalo video explains the app and setup flow. Airalo also publishes a separate tab for data/calls/text plans, so select the correct product type before checkout.

For any road trip, compare EE with the other operators at the exact postcodes you will visit using Ofcom Map Your Mobile.

🛡️ #4 — Best Security Features
Saily — Best Security Features and Competitive 10GB Price
10GB €16.99 · unlimited €23.99/7 days · 5GB/day full speed on unlimited · security tools included

Saily is the new fourth provider in this update. The official UK page lists 1GB to 20GB packages plus unlimited plans, 3G/4G/LTE/5G depending on local availability, unrestricted hotspot access and automatic destination activation. It also includes security tools such as ad blocking, web protection and virtual location. Saily does not name its UK carrier on the destination page.

PlanPriceValidity / rule
1GB€3.997 days
5GB€11.4930 days
10GB€16.9930 days
20GB€27.4930 days
Unlimited€23.997 days · 5GB/day full speed, then up to 1 Mbps
Unlimited€63.9930 days · 5GB/day full speed, then up to 1 Mbps
📞 Phone number detail: Saily offers an optional US phone number that can be paired with UK calling and messaging add-ons. It is not a local UK number and it is not included in the data-plan prices above.

Best for: travelers who want competitive fixed-data prices, an unlimited option and built-in security features in one app.

How Saily Works for UK Travel

The video below comes from Saily’s official YouTube channel and shows how the Saily eSIM app works, including installation and activation.

Install the Saily eSIM before travel, enable the line and data roaming, and let the selected package activate when it connects at the destination. The plan must be activated within the period stated at purchase.


Which UK Carrier Is Best for Your Route?

UK eSIM networks 2026 comparison of EE, Three, O2 and Vodafone using official Ofcom Connected Nations and Mobile Matters data
Official UK network context for eSIM travelers: Ofcom reports 88% good geographic coverage from at least one operator and 51% from all four; check the exact postcode with Map Your Mobile.
Travel needOfficial network factPractical choice
London and major citiesAll four operators participate in TfL’s mobile rolloutCompare price and the exact plan network
Fast 5G downloadsThree was fastest in Ofcom Mobile Matters testingNomad lists Three on UK data plans
EE preferenceAiralo identifies EE as its primary UK networkAiralo
Local UK numberNomad identifies Vodafone on calls/SMS plansNomad selected plans
Rural or Highlands routeCoverage varies locally on every networkCheck every postcode with Ofcom Map Your Mobile
UK + mainland EuropeThe UK must be listed in the regional productVerify the live country list before payment

Ofcom’s Connected Nations 2025 report gives a more reliable picture than a blanket “best carrier” claim. Good geographic coverage is available across 88% of the UK from at least one mobile network and 51% from all four. In England, Ofcom reported 96% 4G geographic coverage for EE, Three and Vodafone, and 95% for Virgin Media O2. Local terrain, buildings, congestion and the phone itself still affect reception, so use Ofcom Map Your Mobile for the actual places on your route.


Where eSIM Can Fail in the UK

Even the best eSIM for UK visitors 2026 has limits. Knowing them means no surprises on your trip.

UK eSIM coverage on the London Underground and Elizabeth line in 2026 with TfL 4G and 5G rollout information
TfL reported in March 2026 that 66 of the 121 Underground stations operating below the surface had high-speed 4G and 5G; the whole Elizabeth line has mobile coverage, with wider rollout continuing.
  • London Underground & Elizabeth line: TfL reported in March 2026 that 66 of the 121 Underground stations operating below the surface had high-speed 4G and 5G in ticket halls, corridors and platforms. TfL lists live coverage on sections of the Bakerloo, Central, Jubilee, Northern, Piccadilly and Victoria lines, while the whole Elizabeth line is covered. The programme aims to reach all Tube lines by the end of 2026, so download an offline map for uncovered sections.
  • Scottish Highlands: patchy beyond the main towns. EE (Airalo) is best, but even EE has gaps on Skye, the Outer Hebrides, Orkney, and Shetland. Download offline maps for your full Highland route, including the North Coast 500.
  • Lake District western valleys (Wasdale, Ennerdale): limited even on EE. Offline maps essential. Main towns (Windermere, Ambleside, Keswick, Grasmere) have solid 4G.
  • Remote islands (Hebrides, Orkney, Shetland): limited or no connectivity on all carriers. Offline maps are essential, not optional.
  • Rural Wales and Cornwall: coverage drops in valley areas on all networks. Fine for tourist routes; don’t rely on live Maps in very remote spots.
  • Long-distance trains: signal can drop in tunnels and rural sections on the East Coast Main Line and the West Highland Line. Download entertainment before boarding.

Tips for Using an eSIM in the UK

  1. Verify “United Kingdom” in your plan before buying. Open the provider’s country list and confirm “United Kingdom” is listed — not just “Europe.” Post-Brexit, this is exactly where travelers get caught.
  2. Turn off home SIM data roaming. EU roaming rates may not apply in the UK — keep home SIM data roaming OFF throughout your stay or risk standard international charges.
  3. Install before your flight. Heathrow has SIM kiosks at Terminals 2, 3, 4, and 5, but they require registration and queuing. eSIM installation needs Wi-Fi and is faster done at home. See How to Activate eSIM.
  4. Download Google Maps offline for London. The Underground navigates perfectly offline — download at home or your hotel, not at a station with one bar.
  5. Scottish Highlands rule: download offline maps for your full route before leaving Edinburgh or Inverness — turn-by-turn, not just city maps. Include Skye, the North Coast 500, and any remote glens.
  6. Calls, SMS and number comparison: Nomad offers a local UK number on selected Vodafone plans, including 5GB + 100 minutes + 100 SMS for €11.25. Airalo offers EE calls/text packages, including 5GB + 50 minutes + 50 SMS for €14. Saily sells a US number with separate UK calling and messaging add-ons; Holafly UK is data-only.
  7. Combining UK with Europe? Airalo’s EU+UK plan from €4 and Nomad’s Europe plan both cover the UK and mainland Europe on one eSIM. For longer stays: Best eSIM for 30 Days in Europe.
  8. Combining UK with Ireland? Ireland needs a separate plan — it’s on the EU network, separate from the UK. See Best eSIM for Ireland 2026.

FAQ — Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026

What is the best eSIM for UK visitors in 2026?
Holafly is the multi-network unlimited pick at €25.50/7 days. Nomad is the best value plus local-number option at €21.64/20GB, with calls/SMS plans from €11.25. Airalo is the EE option at €24.50/7 days unlimited. Saily offers 10GB for €16.99, unlimited 7 days for €23.99 and built-in security features. Prices were verified on official provider pages in August 2026.
Did Brexit affect eSIM coverage in the UK?
Yes. A plan labeled “Europe” does not automatically include the UK. Buy a UK-specific eSIM or confirm that “United Kingdom” appears in the regional plan’s current country list.
Which UK mobile network is best for tourists in 2026?
There is no universal winner for every itinerary. Ofcom reports 88% good UK geographic coverage from at least one operator and 51% from all four. Airalo lists EE; Nomad lists Three/O2/Vodafone depending on plan; Holafly lists five UK networks; Saily does not name its UK carrier. Check the exact route with Ofcom Map Your Mobile.
Does my European eSIM work in the UK?
Only if the regional package explicitly lists the United Kingdom. Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily sell regional products that can include the UK, but the live country list for the selected package is the final check.
How much data do I need for a UK trip?
A typical 7-day city trip often fits within 10GB to 20GB when you use maps, messaging, social media and transport apps. Heavy streaming or hotspot use can justify unlimited data; read each provider’s high-speed allowance and fair-use rules.
Does an eSIM work on the London Underground and Elizabeth line?
Yes where TfL mobile infrastructure is live. TfL reported in March 2026 that 66 of the 121 Underground stations operating below the surface had high-speed 4G and 5G, while the whole Elizabeth line has mobile coverage. Rollout continues, so offline maps remain useful.
Can I get a local UK phone number with a travel eSIM?
Yes on selected Nomad and Airalo calls/SMS packages. Nomad explicitly identifies a local UK number on its Vodafone plans. Saily’s optional number is a US number that can be paired with UK calling and messaging add-ons. Holafly UK is data-only.
What is the UK ETA and do I need one?
Most visa-free visitors need an Electronic Travel Authorisation. It costs £20 and normally permits multiple trips for up to two years or until the passport expires. Check GOV.UK for your nationality and immigration status.

Final Verdict: Best eSIM for UK Visitors 2026

Choose by use case and the network attached to the selected package. Ofcom data shows why an exact postcode check is more defensible than naming one universal network winner. Before buying any Europe plan, verify that “United Kingdom” appears in the country list.

  • 🥇 Holafly: Best unlimited + multi-network · €25.50/7 days · ANDREONDIGITAL 5% off
  • 🥈 Nomad: Best value + UK number options · €21.64/20GB · calls/SMS from €11.25
  • 🥉 Airalo: Best direct EE option · unlimited €24.50/7 days · calls/SMS packages
  • 🛡️ Saily: Best security features · €16.99/10GB · unlimited €23.99/7 days

London → compare 10GB and 20GB prices. Scotland or remote routes → check every postcode with Ofcom Map Your Mobile and download offline maps. Local UK number → Nomad or Airalo selected plans. UK + mainland Europe → confirm the UK is in the live regional country list.

Best eSIM for UK visitors 2026 final verdict ranking Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily with official August prices and use cases
Final verdict for the best eSIM for UK visitors 2026: four providers ranked by unlimited data, value and phone-number options, EE access and security features.

This article contains affiliate links. I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Provider prices and plan details were verified on the official Holafly, Nomad, Airalo and Saily sites on August 15, 2026. Provider network disclosures: Holafly lists Orange UK, T-Mobile UK, H3G UK, VirginMediaO2 UK and Vodafone UK; Nomad lists Hutchison 3G, O2 and Vodafone depending on plan; Airalo identifies EE as its primary UK network; Saily does not name a UK carrier on its destination page. Wider network and London transport facts were checked with Ofcom and TfL. Always confirm the live package at checkout.

Last verified: August 15, 2026.


Keep Reading

UK & Ireland

Europe Guides

Nearby Countries

eSIM Reviews

Scroll to Top